top of page

Welcome
 

Welcome to my blog! My name is Kim and I write young adult paranormal, mysteries, and thrillers. This blog enables me to share the two things I love: Books and the craft of writing.

Ask the Girl is my debut novel. Murdered in 1925, Kate must seek the help of Lila and her sister to save her from her demon prison.

Do you love thrillers, sci-fi, fantasy, and suspense with a little romance?

Find and support Kim by subscribing below to find your next adventure.

Join our mailing list

Thanks for subscribing!

A Riveting Rollercoaster of Secrets and Suspense: THE REUNION Book Review

Today's book is a riveting rollercoaster of secrets and suspense by bestselling young adult thriller author Kit Frick. Her new book THE REUNION will have you at the edge of your seat. This book review and tour are sponsored by Turn the Page Tours. Find my review below and don't forget to enter the book giveaway!

Book THE REUNION by Kit Frick
 

THE REUNION by Kit FricksdaxCZW32 `


⭐⭐⭐⭐


If you're in the mood for a thrilling rollercoaster ride of secrets, lies, and murder set against the backdrop of a luxurious Caribbean resort, then "The Reunion" by Kit Frick should be at the top of your reading list. In this young adult thriller, Frick weaves a tale of a dysfunctional family reunion gone terribly wrong, where old grudges and dangerous secrets culminate in a shocking murder.


The story kicks off with the Mayweather family, scattered and fragmented over the years, reluctantly coming together for a seemingly idyllic vacation in Cancún. The occasion? The engagement of Addison and Mason's mother to the father of their future stepbrother, Theo. Throw in cousin Natalia, and you have a family dynamic that's as explosive as a powder keg. Frick brilliantly captures the tension, resentment, and hidden animosities that often lurk beneath the surface of family gatherings.


The characters are vividly portrayed, each with their unique flaws and secrets. Addison, the peacekeeper, desperately tries to hide her own skeletons. Theo, the outsider, attempts to mend the fences that divide the family. Natalia, the romantic, avoids discussing her past at all costs. And Mason, the hothead, grapples with his temper. As the week unfolds, Frick expertly peels back the layers of each character's facade, revealing their dark truths and inner demons.


The pacing of the novel is nothing short of masterful. Frick keeps readers on the edge of their seats, steadily building suspense and intrigue with each page turn. As secrets are unveiled, the atmosphere becomes increasingly tense, and you can't help but become engrossed in the whirlwind of events. It's like watching a thrilling crime drama, complete with red herrings and unexpected twists.


Frick's writing is engaging and immersive. She transports readers to the sun-soaked, palm-fringed beaches of Cancún, creating a vivid backdrop for the family drama that unfolds. Her prose is crisp and evocative, making it easy to visualize the luxurious resort and the characters' surroundings.


What truly sets "The Reunion" apart is its character-driven narrative. While the murder mystery is the central plot, the heart of the story lies in the complex relationships among the Mayweathers. Frick delves deep into the emotions, grudges, and secrets that bind and tear them apart, making the characters feel real and relatable. You'll find yourself empathizing with their struggles and, at times, questioning their motives.


As the novel hurtles towards its shocking conclusion, you'll be left breathless and stunned. Frick doesn't hold back, delivering a climax that will leave you reeling. It's a testament to her storytelling prowess that she manages to keep you guessing until the very end.


In conclusion, "The Reunion" by Kit Frick is a must-read for fans of suspenseful family dramas and murder mysteries. With its well-crafted characters, gripping plot, and a setting that oozes luxury and danger in equal measure, this book is a thrilling journey into the dark underbelly of family secrets. So, grab a copy, settle into your favorite reading spot, and prepare for a vacation you won't soon forget. Just be warned: family bonding has never been so deadly.


 

tour banner of THE REUNION

Book THE REUNION by Kit Frick

TITLE: The Reunion

AUTHOR: Kit Frick

PUBLISHER: SimonTeen (Simon & Schuster)

RELEASE DATE: August 29, 2023)

GENRES: YA thriller/mystery, YA contemporary BUY LINKS:




SYNOPSIS:

From the author of I Killed Zoe Spanos comes a YA thriller in the vein of The White Lotus and Karen M. McManus’s The Cousins following a doomed family reunion gone wrong at a posh Caribbean resort, where old grudges and dangerous secrets culminate in murder.


Eleven Mayweathers went on vacation. Ten came home.


It’s been years since the fragmented Mayweather clan was all in one place, but the engagement of Addison and Mason’s mom to the dad of their future stepbrother, Theo, brings the whole family to sunny Cancún, Mexico, for winter break. Add cousin Natalia to the mix, and it doesn’t take long for tempers to fray and tensions to rise. A week of forced family “fun” reveals that everyone has something to hide, and as secrets bubble to the surface, no one is safe from the fallout. By the end of the week, one member of the reunion party will be dead—and everyone’s a suspect:


The peacekeeper: Addison needs a better hiding place.

The outsider: Theo just wants to mend fences.

The romantic: Natalia doesn’t want to talk about the past.

The hothead: Mason needs to keep his temper under control.


It started as a week in paradise meant to bring them together. But the Mayweathers are about to learn the hard way that family bonding can be deadly.


About the author:

Author of THE REUNION
Kit Frick

Kit Frick is a novelist, poet, and MacDowell Colony fellow from Pittsburgh, PA. She studied creative writing at Sarah Lawrence College and received her MFA from Syracuse University. When she isn’t putting complicated characters in impossible situations, Kit edits poetry and literary fiction for a small press and edits for private clients. She is the author of the young adult thrillers I Killed Zoe Spanos, All Eyes on Us, and See All the Stars, all from Simon & Schuster / Margaret K. McElderry Books, as well as the poetry collection A Small Rising Up in the Lungs from New American Press. Kit is working on her next novel.

Let's keep in touch! Please visit me online at www.kitfrick.com and follow me on Twitter, Instagram, and Pinterest @kitfrick. For insider access to book news, events, and giveaways; a behind-the-scenes look at my writing life; and recommendations drawn from my endless fascination with psychological suspense and true crime, sign up for my monthly newsletter These Little Secrets at bit.ly/KitLetter.

Giveaway:

There are 3 copies up for giveaway, courtesy of the publisher!


Comments


bottom of page