top of page

Welcome
 

Welcome to my blog! My name is Kim and I write young adult paranormal, mysteries, and thrillers. This blog enables me to share the two things I love: Books and the craft of writing.

Ask the Girl is my debut novel. Murdered in 1925, Kate must seek the help of Lila and her sister to save her from her demon prison.

Book "Ask the Girl" by Kim Bartosch

Do you love thrillers, sci-fi, fantasy, and suspense with a little romance?

Find and support Kim by subscribing below to find your next adventure.

Join our mailing list

Thanks for subscribing!

An Unforgettable Journey of Kinship and Redemption: MOTIONS OF INTERVALS Book Review

I am thrilled to be hosting a spot on the MOTION OF INTERVALS by Kristy McGinnis Blog Tour hosted by Rockstar Book Tours. Check out my post about an unforgettable journey of kingship and redemption and make sure to enter the giveaway!


Book Motion of Intervals

Book Motion of Intervals

About The Book:


Title: MOTION OF INTERVALS

Author: Kristy McGinnis

Pub. Date: July 28, 2023

Publisher: Kristy McGinnis

Formats: Paperback, eBook

Pages: 296


An often engaging tale of kinship and finding safe harbor. - Kirkus Reviews


Author Kristy McGinnis has crafted a beautifully told story that really focuses deeply on the central characters and the choices they've made in their lives that may or may not define their future. - Readers Favorite



An empowering, contemporary, literary dive into the pool of maternal messiness from the author of Ellipsis. Perfect for fans of Jodi Picoult and Taylor Jenkins Reid.


Kenna has been living under the shadow of her mother, America’s favorite celebrity, Tessa Shepherd. America doesn't know what the woman is really like though. Now, the twenty-year-old student finds herself immersed in scandal and facing her mother's wrath. Out of options, she turns to the surrogate who hasn't been in her life since birth.


Still grieving the death of her wife, Rachel's been going through the empty motions of life. She hasn't seen th


e child she handed over at birth since that day some twenty years before but when she learns of Kenna's plight she finds herself reaching out despite the contract she signed those many years ago.


Desperate to escape Tessa's wrath and to find purpose again, the women embark on a life-changing road trip that takes them down the eastern seaboard to the ultimate destination of Key West, Florida. Along the way they confront old ghosts, find inspiration in the most unlikely of faces, and redefine what family really means. Part escape, part adventure, the women uncover secret stories from each other's lives and realize they are more alike than they initially understood.


The reader is the third person along the journey, privy to Kenna and Rachel’s secrets and to their transformation in this vivid, beautifully crafted tale of how two near-strangers can save each other.

 

My Review:


⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐


In "Motion of Intervals," author Kristy McGinnis takes readers on an emotional rollercoaster through the complex lives of her central characters, Kenna and Rachel, as they navigate the turbulent waters of family, loss, and redemption. This beautifully crafted novel immerses readers in a tale of maternal messiness, empowerment, and the transformative power of unexpected connections.


Kenna, a twenty-year-old college student, has spent her life in the shadow of her mother, Tessa Shepherd, America's beloved celebrity. But behind the façade of fame lies a woman whose true nature is as hard and cold as diamonds, a portrayal that author McGinnis skillfully brings to life. The stark contrast between Kenna's perception of her mother's cruelty and the glittering image presented to the public serves as a powerful backdrop for the narrative.


Rachel, on the other hand, has been struggling with grief and a sense of emptiness since the loss of her wife. She had given up her child, Kenna, for adoption twenty years ago, and they hadn't seen each other since. When Kenna's life takes a tumultuous turn and she reaches out to the surrogate mother from her past, Rachel's world is upended.


The heart of the story lies in the transformative road trip that Kenna and Rachel embark upon. As they journey down the eastern seaboard towards Key West, Florida, readers are treated to a profound exploration of their lives, secrets, and the hidden scars that have shaped them. McGinnis skillfully peels back the layers of these two women, revealing their vulnerabilities, strengths, and the surprising similarities that bind them together.


What sets "Motion of Intervals" apart is its ability to make readers feel like the third person along for the ride. We are privy to Kenna and Rachel's intimate moments, their fears, and their hopes. The author's vivid storytelling paints a picture of their journey that is so real and emotionally charged that it's impossible not to be deeply invested in their lives.


The emotional depth and character development in this novel are truly impressive. McGinnis deftly explores themes of family, forgiveness, and the power of human connection. The growth and transformation of Kenna and Rachel throughout the story are both heartwarming and inspiring.


In summary, "Motion of Intervals" is a captivating and emotionally resonant literary journey that will leave readers reflecting on the power of redemption, forgiveness, and the definition of family. Kristy McGinnis has crafted a powerful narrative that explores the depths of human emotion and connection, making it a must-read for fans of contemporary fiction. This book beautifully demonstrates how two near-strangers can come together to save each other, making it an unforgettable read.


 

Author of Motions of Intervals
Kristy McGinnis

About Kristy McGinnis:

Good books, red wine, laughing children, and frequent travel top Kristy’s list of things that make life worth living.

Kristy is the best-selling author of Ellipsis. Her second novel, Motion of Intervals, is due to be published in August 2023. She’s worn many uniforms- U.S. Coast Guard, National Park Service, colonial woman’s dress, and waitress smock. She spends her cozy time with her husband Brian, her three young adult children, and her spritely little cats Percy and Baby.



Giveaway Details:

1 winner will receive a $10 Amazon GC courtesy of Rockstar Book Tours, International.

Ends September 9th, midnight EST.



Comments


bottom of page