top of page

Welcome
 

Welcome to my blog! My name is Kim and I write young adult paranormal, mysteries, and thrillers. This blog enables me to share the two things I love: Books and the craft of writing.

Ask the Girl is my debut novel. Murdered in 1925, Kate must seek the help of Lila and her sister to save her from her demon prison.

Book "Ask the Girl" by Kim Bartosch

Do you love thrillers, sci-fi, fantasy, and suspense with a little romance?

Find and support Kim by subscribing below to find your next adventure.

Join our mailing list

Thanks for subscribing!

Enchanting Middle-Grade Adventure: BETWEEN MONSTERS AND MARVELS Book Review

Monsters are still lurking on Barrow’s Bay.


Today, I'm excited to be a part of BETWEEN MONSTERS AND MARVELS by Alysa Wishingrad's virtual book tour published by HarperCollins. This book tour is sponsored by Rockstar Book Tours. Be sure to read my thoughts on this enchanting middle-grade adventure below and where to get your copy!


Book Review BETWEEN MONSTERS AND MONSTERS


Book MONSTERS AND MARVELS

TITLE: Between Monsters and Marvels

AUTHOR: Alysa Wishingrad

GENRE: middle-grade fantasy

PRICE: $19.99 (USD)

PAGES: 304


A standalone high-stakes middle-grade fantasy by Alysa Wishingrad, author of the Junior Library Guild Gold Standard selection The Verdigris Pawn.


Monsters are still lurking on Barrow’s Bay.


Dare Coates is sure of it. No drifter or ruffian could have killed her father, the Captain of the Guard, while he was on patrol. But everyone insists that monsters have been gone for years now. Dare’s mother. Her classmates. Even the governor, who swiftly marries her mother just months after her father’s death.


Dare’s suspicions grow even stronger when the governor suddenly ships her off to the mainland, away from any hope of uncovering the truth about her father’s death.


Or so she thinks. Soon Dare finds solid proof that monsters still exist and she starts to question everything she’s always known. Was her father who she thought he was? Who can she trust? Where is the line between good and evil?


The truth hides behind danger and deception. But with the help of an unlikely crew of cohorts and a stray beastie, nothing can stop Dare from finding out what happened to her father and exposing who the real monsters are.


Perfect for fans of Ellen Oh’s Spirit Hunters and Lauren Oliver’s The Magnificent Monsters of Cedar Street.


 

My Review:


BETWEEN MONSTERS AND MARVELS by Alysa Wishingrad is a middle-grade fantasy adventure that takes readers on an exhilarating journey filled with mystery, magic, and monstrous surprises. Reminiscent of the darkly whimsical tone of "Lemony Snicket's A Series of Unfortunate Events" and the fantastical world-building of "How to Train Your Dragon," this book is a captivating addition to the middle-grade fantasy genre.


The story revolves around Dare Coates, a courageous young girl determined to unravel the mystery of her father's death. Her steadfast belief that monsters still roam Barrow's Bay sets the stage for a thrilling adventure. Alysa Wishingrad expertly weaves a tale of suspense and intrigue, keeping readers guessing as Dare embarks on her quest to uncover the truth.


One of the book's strengths lies in its strong, relatable characters, particularly Dare herself. Dare's tenacity and spirit make her a compelling protagonist, and readers will find it easy to connect with her as she faces both the supernatural and the complexities of her own family history. The addition of a mysterious aunt and a lovable "beastie" adds depth to the story, making Dare's journey even more captivating.


Wishingrad's world-building is commendable, creating a setting where magic and monsters coexist in a delicate balance. The sense of wonder and danger permeates the pages, making it easy for readers to immerse themselves in this fantastical realm. As the plot unfolds, the line between good and evil becomes increasingly blurred, adding layers of complexity to the narrative.


BETWEEN MONSTERS AND MARVELS is a standalone adventure with high stakes that will keep middle-grade readers eagerly turning the pages. Alysa Wishingrad's storytelling is engaging, and her prose is well-crafted, making it accessible and enjoyable for young readers while also holding the interest of adults.


In summary, this book is a must-read for middle-grade readers who crave adventure, strong female characters, and a dose of magic and monsters. Alysa Wishingrad has created a captivating world filled with intrigue and excitement that will leave readers eagerly anticipating her future works. BETWEEN MONSTERS AND MARVELS is a true gem in the world of middle-grade fantasy, and I wholeheartedly recommend it to young explorers of new worlds and fantastical tales.


 

About the author:


Alysa Wishingrad writes fantastical stories for young readers, tales that ask; is the truth really true? Her favorite stories are those that meld the historical with the fantastic, and that find ways to shine a light on both the things that divide and unite us all.


She is the author of Between Monsters and Marvels and The Verdigris Pawn, which was a Junior Library Guild Gold Standard Selection.


Alysa lives in the Hudson Valley with her family two demanding rescue dogs and a cat-shaped dog, who are either monsters or marvels, depending on the day.


You can also find her:


Comments


bottom of page