top of page

Welcome
 

Welcome to my blog! My name is Kim and I write young adult paranormal, mysteries, and thrillers. This blog enables me to share the two things I love: Books and the craft of writing.

Ask the Girl is my debut novel. Murdered in 1925, Kate must seek the help of Lila and her sister to save her from her demon prison.

Do you love thrillers, sci-fi, fantasy, and suspense with a little romance?

Find and support Kim by subscribing below to find your next adventure.

Join our mailing list

Thanks for subscribing!

Gripping Thriller of Secrets and Self-Discovery: AND DON'T LOOK BACK Book Review

Today, I'm excited to be a part of AND DON'T LOOK BACK by Rebecca Barrow and Simon & Shuster's virtual book tour hosted by Turn the Page Tours. Check out my post on this gripping thriller of secrets and self-discovery below.


Book Review of the book AND DON'T LOOK BACK

Tour Banner for the book AND DON'T LOOK BACK


3d Book AND DON'T LOOK BACK

TITLE: And Don’t Look Back

AUTHOR: Rebecca Barrow

PUBLISHER: Simon & Schuster

RELEASE DATE: October 3, 2023

GENRES: YA Contemporary, thriller, horror, mystery BUY LINKS:

rebeccabarrow.com


SYNOPSIS:

After her mother’s death, a teen pieces together the truth of her family’s past and what her mom was hiding from in this thriller that’s perfect for fans of Courtney Summers and Tiffany D. Jackson.


Harlow Ford has spent her entire life running, caught in her mother’s wake as they flit from town to town, hiding from a presence that Harlow isn’t even sure is real. In each new place, Harlow takes on a new name and personality, and each time they run, she leaves another piece of herself behind.


When Harlow and her mom set off on yet another 3 a.m. escape, they are involved in a car accident that leaves Harlow’s mother fatally wounded. Before she dies, she tells Harlow two things: where to find the key to a safety deposit box and to never stop running. In the box, Harlow finds thirty grand in cash, life insurance documents, and several fake IDs for both herself and her mom—an on-the-run essentials kit. But Harlow also finds a photograph of her mom as a teenager with two other girls, the deed to a house in a town she’s never heard of, and a handful of newspaper clippings discussing the disappearance of a woman named Eve Kennedy, Harlow’s grandmother…relics of a part of Harlow’s life she never knew existed.


With these tantalizing clues about her mother’s secrets and the power to choose her own future for the first time, Harlow realizes she has two choices: keep fleeing her mom’s ghosts or face down the nebulous threat that’s been hanging over her for her entire life.

 

My Review:


⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐


"And Don't Look Back" by Rebecca Barrow is a riveting thriller that delves into the enigmatic world of a teen named Harlow Ford, whose life has been a constant whirlwind of secrecy and evasion. The novel paints a haunting portrait of a young girl perpetually on the run, haunted by the specter of an unknown threat. As she embarks on a journey to uncover her family's hidden past, Barrow crafts a narrative that is equal parts suspenseful, emotionally charged, and thought-provoking.


From the very beginning, readers are thrust into Harlow's turbulent life, one marked by constant relocation and identity changes, all in an attempt to escape an elusive danger that may or may not exist. Barrow masterfully captures the palpable tension that accompanies Harlow's existence, making it impossible not to empathize with her plight. Harlow's character is brilliantly developed, evolving from a girl trapped in her mother's shadow to a determined young woman determined to uncover the truth.


The story takes an unexpected turn when a tragic car accident forces Harlow to confront her mother's cryptic past. In her dying moments, Harlow's mother bequeaths her a key to a safety deposit box, setting off a chain of revelations that shatter Harlow's perception of her own life. Inside the box, she discovers a treasure trove of secrets—cash, forged identities, and a photograph of her mother as a teenager, along with a deed to a mysterious house in an unfamiliar town. These revelations lead Harlow to a haunting discovery about her grandmother, Eve Kennedy, who disappeared under ominous circumstances.


Rebecca Barrow's writing is both evocative and immersive, drawing readers into the intricate web of family mysteries and emotional turmoil. Harlow's journey to uncover the truth about her family is filled with unexpected twists and turns, and Barrow masterfully balances the suspense with moments of introspection and self-discovery. As Harlow grapples with her choices, readers are taken on an emotional rollercoaster, experiencing the highs and lows of her quest for answers.


"And Don't Look Back" is a gripping thriller that will keep readers on the edge of their seats until the very last page. It's a story of resilience, self-discovery, and the enduring power of family bonds. Fans of Courtney Summers and Tiffany D. Jackson will find themselves captivated by Rebecca Barrow's storytelling prowess. This novel is a must-read for anyone who enjoys a heart-pounding mystery with a strong emotional core. Barrow's exploration of the past and the choices that define us is nothing short of extraordinary, leaving readers with much to ponder long after they've finished the last chapter.


 

Author of AND DON'T LOOK BACK
Rebecca Barrow

About the Author:


Rebecca Barrow is the critically acclaimed author of Bad Things Happen Here, This Is What It Feels Like, and several others. She is a lover of sunshine, Old Hollywood icons, and all things high femme. She lives and writes in England.


Comments


bottom of page