top of page

Welcome
 

Welcome to my blog! My name is Kim and I write young adult paranormal, mysteries, and thrillers. This blog enables me to share the two things I love: Books and the craft of writing.

Ask the Girl is my debut novel. Murdered in 1925, Kate must seek the help of Lila and her sister to save her from her demon prison.

Book "Ask the Girl" by Kim Bartosch

Do you love thrillers, sci-fi, fantasy, and suspense with a little romance?

Find and support Kim by subscribing below to find your next adventure.

Join our mailing list

Thanks for subscribing!

Riveting Finale: THE TEMPLE OF FORTUNA Book Review

I am thrilled to be hosting a spot on THE TEMPLE OF FORTUNA by Elodie Harper Blog Tour hosted by Rockstar Book Tours. Check out my post on this riveting finale and make sure to enter the giveaway!


Book THE TEMPLE OF FORTUNA

 

My Review:


⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐


Elodie Harper's latest offering, The Temple of Fortuna, serves as a captivating conclusion to her Wolf Den Trilogy, a journey that has taken readers deep into the heart of Ancient Rome. Harper's eloquent prose and meticulous attention to detail paint a vivid picture of Rome and the period, making this final installment a must-read for historical fiction enthusiasts.

The story follows Amara's remarkable journey, from her enslavement in Pompeii's wolf den brothel to her transformation into a high-powered courtesan in the grandeur of Rome. As Amara plays for power within the imperial palace, the looming presence of Mount Vesuvius adds an air of impending doom. The year is 79 CE, and the eruption of Vesuvius is about to reshape the lives of those closest to Amara in Pompeii.


Harper's storytelling prowess shines through, and even for those who may not have read the first two books in the trilogy, The Temple of Fortuna stands strong as a standalone novel. The narrative is skillfully crafted, drawing readers into the intricate web of Amara's life, filled with ambition, power struggles, and the impending cataclysmic event that history has etched in stone.


One of Harper's strengths lies in her ability to capture the essence of Ancient Rome, immersing readers in its decadence, political intrigue, and societal complexities. The meticulous research is evident, providing a rich backdrop for the characters to navigate. Whether Amara's ascent through the Roman hierarchy or the impending disaster of Vesuvius, every aspect is brought to life with a palpable authenticity.


Readers who enjoyed Jennifer Saint's Ariadne, Natalie Haynes' works like A Thousand Ships and Stone Blind, and other novels rooted in Ancient Roman and Greek mythology will find themselves thoroughly engrossed in Harper's Wolf Den Trilogy. Moreover, those seeking feminist historical fiction that explores the roles of women in Ancient Greece and Rome will be captivated by Amara's journey.


In conclusion, The Temple of Fortuna is a testament to Elodie Harper's storytelling prowess. Her ability to seamlessly weave historical events with compelling characters and a gripping plot makes this final installment a rewarding read. As the last chapter unfolds against the backdrop of Vesuvius's eruption, readers are left with a lingering appreciation for Harper's masterful portrayal of Ancient Rome and a desire to explore the entire Wolf Den Trilogy from the beginning.



 


Comentarios


bottom of page